Frozen Banana Sundae Treats

Image

Okay, so these didn’t turn out as beautifully as the picture of them that I found on Pinterest. I believe that’s what the call a “Pinterest Fail.” But dammit if they weren’t delicious. My son Tyler loves fruit, so for a little mini treat in the middle of the day before he had his birthday cake, I made these little guys. Of course, because I was stressing about everything, I had a few problems in the process. But, like I said, they way they looked didn’t change the taste.

First thing I did was freeze a bunch of bananas. I put them all in a freezer bag (peeled) the night before his party so they would be ready to go. Since it was just the three of us for his party, I only used two bananas. My husband cut off the tops so that they could stand up on their own and so the whipped cream and cherry could sit on top.

ImageImage(Sorry for the fuzziness. My husband took this picture.)

While my husband was busy cutting the bananas and taking shitty pictures, I was at the stovetop boiling water in a pot with a Pyrex bowl on top (my own makeshift double boiler). I put a bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips in the bowl with about a tablespoon of vegetable oil just to help it smooth out.

Image

I continued stirring the chocolate with a wooden spoon until it was completely melted.ImageImage

Here’s where the trouble started. When the chocolate was melted, I attempted to dip the bottom quarter or so of the bananas into the chocolate. However, when I tried to do this, the chocolate wasn’t sticking very well to the bananas. It was like the bananas were so cold and the chocolate was so hot that it just wouldn’t stick. Plus, while I was holding each banana, the heat from my fingers would start to unfreeze the banana and so it would start to get mushy and slip out of my hand. Whatever. Anyway, I dipped them as best as I could and then dipped the chocolate part into these colorful nonpareils that look like the colors from Toy Story (because Tyler loves the shit out of some Toy Story)! Finally, I topped them with a little Reddi Whip and some maraschino cherries and boom! Frozen banana sundae treats for my kick-ass kid.

ImageImageImage

Look at that face! How can I be mad that these looked crappy when Tyler thinks they are the coolest things he’s ever seen and devours them with a smile? Maybe with some practice I’ll get better at these, but I’m not too worried about it. But if you all try them out, let me know any tips you have for making them turn out better.

Leave a Reply

